“You cannot solve the great problems of human destiny – problems which cannot be avoided – without accepting the mission of Christ and availing yourself of the Catholic Church.”
Isaac T. Hecker (“Dr. Brownson and Catholicity,” November 1887; “Catholic World” CW, 224)

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is the process through which interested adults and older children are introduced to the Catholic faith and a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. The RCIA process consists of reflection, prayer, instruction, discernment, and formation. Weekly focus sessions, attendance at Sunday Mass, “Breaking Open the Word” discussion groups, and involvement in parish activities, help participants prepare to receive the sacraments and full initiation into the church.

There are four phases in the RCIA. process:

  1. Inquiry: Individuals (Inquirers) join in informal group discussions about the faith and the teachings of the church.
  2. Catechumenate: Candidates for reception into the church learn and develop an understanding of Church teachings and the mystery of salvation.
  3. Purification and Enlightenment: During the Lenten period the focus is personal reflection on religious experience and faith.
  4. Mystagogy: This final period of initiation, the newly initiated experience being part of the Christian community.

Contact:  Deacon Dom Guzzardo • 858-751-4785 • deacondom@stgg.org

2023-2024 Session



If you are interested in knowing more about the Catholic faith, or exploring the idea of becoming Catholic, RCIA may be just what you need. RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) meets Tuesdays at 7:00 pm in the Parish Hall starting in September. Catholics who merely want to refresh their faith are also encouraged to join us.

If you want to learn more about RCIA, or have questions about the process, please contact Deacon Dom: 858-751-4785 or deacondom@stgg.org



Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults Adapted for Children

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults also applies to unbaptized children of catechetical age (generally seven years of age) as they are considered above the age of reason in regard to the sacraments of initiation. The RCIA process is adapted to meet the specific needs of children and leads to the celebration of the three sacraments of initiation: Baptism, Confirmation and First Eucharist.

For more information, including eligibility and meeting times, please contact the RCIA facilitator.

Rite of Election 2024

Photo Gallery